10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2013 1:36 PM by Katherine McGraw

Difference from last year Column Percent

Teresa Obis

I am new in Tableau and I have a problem that I can not solve.

Please can anyone help me?

I have my Sales by Brand (rows) and Year(columns).

I've got

1) the Sales Difference from last year in % for each brand:

(ZN(SUM([Sales])) - LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Sales])), -1)) /ABS(LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Sales])), -1))

2) the market share of each Brand for each year (as my brands are in rows, is the Percent of Total Down Pane):

SUM([Sales]) / TOTAL(SUM([Sales]))

Now I would like to compute the Difference from the market share from one year to another (just substrat one from another). I would like to perform a secondary calculation of a results, but I haven't this option for the Percent of Total.

I have tried with:

ZN(SUM([Sales]) / TOTAL(SUM([Sales]))) - LOOKUP(ZN(SUM([Sales]) / TOTAL(SUM([Sales]))), -1)

but I do not get the expected results.

I have looking for at Manual, Knowledge base and Forum but I could not find any trick.

Find attached an Example.

Any help would be appreciated.

Teresa

• 2. Re: Difference from last year Column Percent
          Teresa Obis

Oh, my God! I am going to be crazy.

I try to replicate your answer, but I could not all day long.  I was looking into every calculation to see what are the difference.

At last I've seen it.

I send you two packeges workbook. In your file "percent diff in market share" all work fine. I prefer to have the Difference of Market Share just as a subtraction because Market Share is computing as a Brand Percent. Following your example the Difference YoY Share was -2,5%, 0% and +2,5%, as I would like to have.

But in my example I have 20%, 23% and 33%. All the computation has exactly the same formula, I promise. The only thing that it is different is that in my example the last item (Diff YoY Share) has a mark in "Computing using ..." Date (my Year's variable), and you do not have any mark at this.