1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2018 9:23 PM by Peter Fakan

Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row

Graham A

Hi All,

I am new to all this so please excuse me if this is a stupid question.

I have been using Tableau desktop for around two weeks now, pretty impressed to be honest. But my first report delivery is for our Sales and Marketing teams. The report I have created uses only Dimensions placed on the Row shelf to show information from our db on sales Leads.

The report has 13 of them for things like Last Name, First Name, Email addr, Date created, Date Modified etc and additional filters to narrow down the list.

But what I need to do is post this to Tableau Server and allow the users (interactors) to sort on any of the Rows and I can't seem to figure out/if this can be done and how........

Thanks

G

• 1. Re: Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row
          Joe Mako

Take a look at the attached, I used a parameter and a calculated field to allow the user to change the sort order of the first dimension.

Would you like any details on any of the techniques used in this workbook?

• 2. Re: Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row
            Graham A

Thanks Joe.

Almost there apart from getting the Parameter to show as a Quick Filter, think I have everything else working

• 3. Re: Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row
              Graham A

ahh....got it!

Show Parameter control

• 4. Re: Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row
                Graham A

Brilliant.....Thanks Joe all working

One last question on this

Certain Columns I would want in Ascending order (Last Name)and others in Decending order (Date=Newest) can this be done?

It seems so, I dont know what I have done but Name is sorting A-Z and rating is sorting Z-A??????

• 5. Re: Interactive sort on Dimensions in Row
                  Joe Mako

I don't know of an easy way to control that without preprocessing.