8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2016 2:20 PM by Pete Stiglich

support of dimensional star schema with several fact tables

thomas maure

Hi, I am new to Tableau, evaluating for one day the 4.0 version and there is (at least) one major question on which I cannot make my opinion...

Is is possible to use a dimensional star schema with several fact tables, which requires to issue several SQL queries and then combine the measures based on common dimension ?

For example, in hotel chain business:

- I have one fact table NIGHTS    that joins to PROPERTY, ROOM_TYPE and DATE dimension tables w/ one measure NB_NIGHTS

- I have one fact table CAPACITY that joins to PROPERTY, ROOM_TYPE and DATE dimension tables w/ one measure NB_AVAIL_ROOM

NIGHTS                                                              CAPACITY

ID_PROPERTY-----------> PROPERTY <---------------ID_PROPERTY

ID_DATE------------------->  DATE  <------------------ID_DATE

ID_ROOMTYPE --------> ROOMTYPE <---------------ID_ROOMTYPE

NB_NIGHTS                                                        NB_AVAIL_ROOM

The occupancy for an hotel is defined by SUM(NIGHTS.NB_NIGHTS) / SUM ( CAPACITY.NB_AVAIL_ROOM )

and to get each SUM, one separate SQL query is required... 

For the moment I did not figure out how to describe such database design in Tableau and I think this is just impossible...

Can somebody confirm or explain how I should proceed.

Thanks

Thomas

• 1. Re: support of dimensional star schema with several fact tables
          thomas maure

Well, not a lot of activity in this forum...or maybe the question was inadequate.

One point I forgot to mention is that tables have different granularities (typically one row per NIGHT with guest name for NIGHTS table ) and DATE for the CAPACITY table.

Nevertheless, I managed to find a solution at database level by aggregating both fact tables in a single view which contain both NB_NIGHTS and NB_AVAIL_ROOM column.