5 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2019 10:08 AM by Kishor c

Time formatting in Excel

Pete Chizlett

I'm brand new to Tableau and am trying to do a viz using an export of data from a 10km race. The Chip time is shown in minutes (elapsed) but when I click in the cell in Excel is shows a completely different format / formula (I'm not sure which).

When I bring the file into Tableau is shows as a date in the format above the chip time but I'd like to be able to show and analyse the chip time in MM:SS format.

• 1. Re: Time formatting in Excel
          Jim Dehner

Good morning Pete

first congrats on the 10K   nice time

the easiest solution I have found in similar situations is to create the fix on the excel side by creating a date field in inserting the race date and then adding the datevalue + timevalue   in excel to create tha date/time field

then bring that into tableau as a datetime field

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

• 2. Re: Time formatting in Excel
            Pete Chizlett

Thanks Jim - my time was a little slower to be honest

I've tried to fix this on the Excel side and am struggling to do so. The date shown is obviously not current. I think it might be a format used in SQL so I wondered if anyone had seen this type of thing. It displays as the MM:SS format in Excel but shows as this wierd date format when I click on the Excel cell.

• 3. Re: Time formatting in Excel
              Jim Dehner

Ouch - slow - you've hurt an old man -  add the excel file to the post and I will convert it for you

Jim

• 4. Re: Time formatting in Excel
                Jonathan Drummey

Hi Pete,

I've spent a lot of time (pun not intended) with Excel & Tableau data & time formatting and I think I can explain what is going on here.