1 11 12 13 14 15 Previous Next 217 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2019 2:24 AM by Theo W Go to original post
      • 210. Re: Ask us anything about maps or spatial data in Tableau!
        Ian Tkach

Hi Kent,

I know this post is over a year old, but I had a question about your response to mark cameron on the subject of heatmaps (March 1, 2017... I believe it was page 3 of this thread?).  Can you go into a bit more detail on how you used QGIS to generate the polygons/lines?

• 211. Re: Ask us anything about maps or spatial data in Tableau!
          anastasia aourik

Hello Kent,

I'm an ESRI developer and would like to see what's the latest capabilities of TABLEAU (Maps) using ESRI shape files.  I saw a link that said use QGIS on ESRI shape files ONLY POINTS FEATURE CLASS and POLYGON feature class is supported. Any news on LINE FEATURECLASS.

Also, I usually take my GIS data and load it to enterprise geodatabase (esri) that is SDE (used to be called ARCSDE).

So I am wondering if the TABLEAU "LOAD TO MAP" functionality supports connecting to ESRI ENTERPRISE GEODATABASE (SQL SERVER or ORACLE) and be able to render the features on tableau map.

That, coupled with the analytics that we can have using std tableau analytics would be very powerful.

• 212. Re: Ask us anything about maps or spatial data in Tableau!
            YASIN CAN PARLAK

Hi Kent,

I would like to know if I could add background images to my map which is created with shapefile (*.shp) ?

When I try to do so, I can creat my polyline with .shp and show it on the map but can not show background image. I am wondering If I could do that.

By the way, at very first I have tried to convert autocad file (*.dwg) to .shp file and some of the files were converted correctly (Polyline.shp and not Polygon.shp), so I have tried to use the Polyline.shp to draw a map. Thank you for help!

Note: I can not share any file because of confidential issues.

Best regards,

Yasin.