8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2018 6:58 AM by Catherine Brown

Blending custom region "shapes" with sales

Wissam Kahi

Hello,

I am a bit new to using maps in Tableau so forgive me if I'm not using the right terminology.

I have a data file with sales for a client that are broken down by regions. Their definition of "region" is specific to the company, but I have a different mapping file that maps all 40k+ US zip codes to a specific region, so I was successful in creating a map of the regions in Tableau. I blended the 2 data files (sales by region and zip code to region mapping) so I can for example add the aggregated sales per region to the map.

This seems to have limitations however. I cannot for example use the map as filter in a dashboard, and it's giving me issues when I try to add an LOD expression to the map that uses the blended data sources ("Cannot blend the secondary data source because one or more fields use an unsupported aggregation").

I thought about joining the tables, but that would dramatically (and I think unnecessarily) increase the size of my data (40k+ zipx mapped to the region). Is there a way where I can upload the "shape" of each region and join it with the sales table? Any other recommendations?

• 1. Re: Blending custom region "shapes" with sales
          Catherine Brown

Without seeing a sample workbook or screenshot it is hard to help.  In 2018.3 the extract stores the data as separate files, which greatly decreases the size of extracts with joins.  When you say map, is it essentially a list of all of the zip codes, assigned to a particular sales region?  I think joining them, rather than blending, really is the best way to go.  Blending is both messy and can be really slow.  And as you seen, LODs are not possible here.  Since LODS are aggregated, you can't really aggregate across blended data sources (from what I understand).  I stay away from blending whenever possible, because of this.

1 of 1 people found this helpful