1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2018 11:01 AM by Renee Coker

Chronic Conditions Count Help

Renee Coker

I think I have been so overwhelmed by this project that my brain has stopped. Not to mention I'm rather new at this Tableau business. So please be patient with me as I think the answer is obvious, but I can't put my finger on it.

I have a measure called Pivot Field Names.  It’s a list of chronic conditions that our members have. I have added this field to the filter card because we want to pick and choose different chronic conditions (as little or as many as we want). What the objective is how to get a count of members who have 3 or more of the preselected conditions on the filter.

So if we select 18 out of 30 chronic conditions, how do I get a count of those members that have 3 or more of the 18 selected chronic conditions?

I’m blocked from uploading any files due to possible PHI conflicts, so sharing a file – even a benign one isn’t an option. Not even a snapshot.  But I can describe in detail what I have on my cards if needed.

Thank you for any help.

• 1. Re: Chronic Conditions Count Help
          Marc-Anthony Di Biase

Hi Renee,

Before digging into your issue I'd like to recommend following this guide;Anonymize your Tableau Package Data for Sharing for future issues, as a packaged workbook is a lot easier to work with to actually deal with your data first hand.

In this case however, this can be solved with a simple calculated field - I'm going to assume your data has a row for each chronic condition that relates to a member, and that a member can have multiple rows they appear in with different chronic conditions.

IF({FIXED [Member] : COUNTD([Condition])} > 2) THEN [Member] END

Let me know if this helps!

• 2. Re: Chronic Conditions Count Help
            Renee Coker

This is the formula I used.

IF({FIXED [Subscriber ID] : COUNTD([Pivot Field Names])} > 2) THEN [Subscriber ID] END

Calculation is valid.