11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2017 11:26 AM by Shawn Wallwork

How to reshape a regular chart?

Xipu Li

Just saw this amazing viz. I was wondering if you could tell me how to customise the chart into this shape? I can see it's a bar chart originally, but I don't know how do you make a curve like that.

Trajectory of a Franchise Dashboard.png

As well as this one:

Screen Shot 2017-11-17 at 11.12.21.png

How to reshape the regular x-y chart into some customised shape?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: How to reshape a regular chart?
          Shawn Wallwork

D

Download it. Open it and take a look.

• 2. Re: How to reshape a regular chart?
            Xipu Li

I did, but still, don't know how to customise the shape.

I'm new to Tableau, by the way. Is there any tutorial or documentation that cover the visualisation?

• 3. Re: How to reshape a regular chart?
              Shawn Wallwork

OK, so this isn't a custom shape. Most charts Tableau produces are essentially Scatter Plots. For instance, Maps are Scatter Plots with a map background. Line charts are Scatter Plots with lines connecting the marks. This chart is no different. She is using math and table calculations to spread marks across the X/Y grid.

X

(([Inner] ) + ([Count of year])/[parameter])

*  (SQRT(2)*

SIN([Radial - franchise position]  *PI() /180))

Y

([Inner] + ([Count of year])/[parameter])

(SQRT(2)*

COS([Radial - franchise position]  *PI() /180))

In fact these calcs produce nested table calculations. So the level of difficulty is extremely high. Beyond that I can't offer much help.

--Shawn

2 of 2 people found this helpful
              • 4. Re: How to reshape a regular chart?
                Xipu Li

Thank you for this thorough explanation.

Alas, I'm not mathematically sophisticated; a simple circle has thrown me off... I wanted to customise my Scatter Plots to some really complex shapes like this:

Screen Shot 2017-11-18 at 11.38.39.png