1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2017 7:05 AM by Gerardo Varela

How to create repeating event based on frequency

Pawel Mazur

Hello and greetings to all members of the board as this is my first post. Unluckily, I am quite new to Tableau, and my experience doesn't handle below issue.

What I need to achieve is repeating occurrence of payment as per below graphic without modification to the data source.

Based on the frequency(once off / monthly / quarterly / annual / seasonal (twice a year)), first payment and last payment date, I want to populate dates for the following payments until last payment date will be reached (everything I have drawn in blue )

I have searched board but didn't find anything (besides modification of the data source) unfortunately.

Attached is .twbx file (version 10.1)

I would be very obliged for any tips here, thanks upfront!

• 1. Re: How to create repeating event based on frequency
          Simon Runc

hi Pawel,

I'm sure it's me, but can you explain what the hand-drawn shapes are?

Do they indicate the payment frequency? so blue squares are for monthly, blue crosses are for quarterly...etc.

And the number of them? Looking in the data source I can only see a single entry per Task

Also what do the 4 date fields mean, which one is the payment date?

If you can let me know I can take a look

My initial guess is that you have a "first" payment date, and then depending if you are monthly, quarterly, 6 monthly...etc. you want a mark for every month, quarter, 6-months after that date?...which is possible (I think) but tricky (as you want more marks than there are data points!). If my guess is correct, is there a reason you can't use the transaction level data (which would make this an easy problem to solve)

• 2. Re: How to create repeating event based on frequency
            Pawel Mazur

Hello Simon,

Thanks for interest, let me explain: