7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2017 12:10 PM by Joseph Brannock

Summing over time with variable interval length data

Joseph Brannock

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to Tableau so it's possible I'm missing something obvious, but I've tried searching through all the help materials and discussions and can't find anything that seems to fit my problem. It's a bit difficult to explain, but here goes:

I have a dataset that details energy transactions over time -- basically, when particular power plants went online, for how long, and at what power level. So each row is a single transaction, but it could cover a variable length of time - anywhere from an hour to a year. I'd like to put together a chart that shows the total energy produced over time (preferably grouped by category), but haven't been able to figure out a way in Tableau to convert the transaction data to a usable time series.

To illustrate what I'm trying to do, I've created a simplified sample data set and done the analysis in Excel (attached). The real dataset comprises millions of transactions, though, so Excel isn't up for the task.

Any ideas on where I could start?

Thanks,

JD

• 1. Re: Summing over time with variable interval length data
          Peter Galimutti

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for providing sample. Based on Data spreadsheet you have the following

Power PlantTypeOutput level (MW)Start timeEnd time
          Plant 1Base50:0023:59
          Plant 2Base60:0023:59
          Plant 3Mid44:0021:59
          Plant 4Mid26:0019:59
          Plant 5Peaker25:007:59
          Plant 5Peaker316:0019:59
          Plant 6Peaker217:00

17:59

Now you calculated totals in another sheet, where does the totals, mid, peak,  base come from?

HourBaseMidPeakerTotal
          0:00110011
          1:00110011
          2:00110011
          3:00110011
          4:00114015
          5:00114217
          • 2. Re: Summing over time with variable interval length data
            Joseph Brannock