4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2016 12:09 AM by Zeenat Goyal

Gantt Chart creation in tableau

Zeenat Goyal

Hello ,

I am new to tableau, and needs to create a gantt chart in tableau, saw some online posts to create this chart, I have a start date & end date and status to show in the bars.

I have calculated the duration in days (end date- start date) but where I am facing the problem is , in calculating/ showing the calender Weeks as shown the excel sheet to be displayed in gantt chart and how bars will come as shown in the attached excel where I calculated the duration in days.

As per online post , they did the average of the days in measure and not sum, what is that for?

I am still not very clear of the term discrete / continous in tableau.

As of now I am keeping just week of Start date in the x-axis , I am not sure if it is correct or not.

If any body could help in building this gantt chart that what and where I am missing things.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Gantt Chart creation in tableau
          Guy Cuthbert

The attached workbook should provide a starting point, although I struggle to correlate the data (Start Date and End Date) in your example XLS against the visuals you had created. Feel free to post further data - as Excel, or a revision to the attached - if this doesn't meet your needs.

2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Gantt Chart creation in tableau
            Zeenat Goyal

Hey Guy,

Sorry for the late reply, and Thanks for the response in regard to Gantt chart, it really helped and I can make it perfectly.

I have one more question, in the same chart, on the date axis which is coming below, I need to show the dates for longer period e.g. I need to show all the tasks between (today - 4 weeks ) and (Today + 8 weeks) in future.

my Start Date falls in the cycle of = (today - 4 weeks ) and my end date falls in (today + 8 weeks )

but on the axis in the chart, I am not sure how to display -4 weeks & +8 weeks.

Any Idea ?