1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2015 5:44 AM by Rody Zakovich

Help with shapes Part 2

jens.bruckmann

Hi all,

I am an absolutley newbie with tableau and read through a lot of entries in this forum already. I found already a thread where shapes are really good explained (Help With Shapes) and tried to adapt it to my data but I am getting stucked a little bit.

What I want is comparing data with different years and show the differnce with a shape. Compare Jan 2015 with Jan 2014 and so on.

I think I am on a good way but when you look at the attached file you see my issue I guess. I want to hide the difference for 2014 and only show the differwnce in 2015.

in excel it would look like this

2014         2015          difference

Jan       51            60                + 9 ( shape with arrow to top

Feb       70            65                - 5(shape with arrow down)

but as you can see it looks a little bit different and I bet there is a way how this can be sorted but I don´t know how.

And maybe you have an idea why everywhere the calculation in difference is show everywhere correct but only in May the arrow is down instead of up??

• 1. Re: Help with shapes Part 2
          Rajeev Pandey

Dear jens,

I can help you with your problem but I am not able to open the Workbook as it is created with latest version. Would you please create a same issue with Tableau 8.3 so that I can have a look and Provide you the Solution

• 2. Re: Help with shapes Part 2
            jens.bruckmann

Hi

I only have installed Version 9.1 and no older Version is there a chance to make it compatible to an older version?

• 3. Re: Help with shapes Part 2
              Mark Fraser

Hi Jens

I have inadvertently already helped you - via the original thread

But this is more difficult...

I have tried various techniques, formulas etc. and the closest I can get is below/ attached - Its not ideal.