12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2015 11:50 PM by Richard Leeke

Tableau Maps

Sudarshan Nelaturi

I am relatively new to Tableau .

I have a requirement, where i have to plot an address location on the Tableau and pass Radius as a Parameter, once the user chooses the parameter the circle from the point should increase or decrease based on the Radius Value. I have had a look at the KB article http://community.tableau.com/message/176349. It got a bit hard for me to understand.

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated

• 1. Re: Tableau Maps
          Shawn Wallwork

I took it apart, stripped it down to it's bare essentials, and I still can't figure out how it is drawing the radius circles. There's usually a radius formula in there that uses the parameter as a variable, but in this workbook there's nothing like that. I reached out to Richard Leeke to see if he had any idea what is going on.

In the meantime try this workbook instead: Re: Concentric circles

At least it has the radius formulas in it:

CIRCLE LONGITUDE

IF [Type]="Circle" THEN

DEGREES(RADIANS( [Longitude] ) +  ATAN2(COS(([distance in Km]*[Radius])/6371)-SIN(RADIANS( [Latitude] ))*SIN(RADIANS( [Circle Latitude] )), SIN(RADIANS([Degree]))*SIN(([distance in Km]*[Radius])/6371)*COS(RADIANS( [Latitude] ))) )-90

ELSE [Longitude]

END

CIRCLE LONGITUDE

IF [Type]="Circle" THEN

DEGREES( ASIN(SIN(RADIANS([Latitude]))*COS(([distance in Km]*[Radius])/6371) + COS(RADIANS([Latitude]))*SIN(([distance in Km]*[Radius])/6371)*COS(RADIANS([Degree]))) )

ELSE [Latitude]

END

These are the two fields doing all of the work. See if you can work out how to apply this to your situation. Meanwhile, we'll wait to see what Richard says.

--Shawn

• 2. Re: Tableau Maps
            Shawn Wallwork

Here's the stripped down version of the radius workbook, just in case anyone wants to have a go at explaining how these circles are getting drawn. (It's a 9.1 workbook.)

--Shawn

• 3. Re: Tableau Maps
              Richard Leeke