12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2016 10:14 AM by cor.bader

create a union of two sheets in the same Excel workbook in Tableau 8.2?

rafael diaz

Hello,

I've been searching around trying to find out how I can create a union of two sheets from the same Excel workbook in Tableau 8.2 and I found the following article on how to do exactly that, but at step 2 doesn't exist for version 8.2 unless I'm missing something. I'm new to Tableau and I'm trying to learn it on the fly as I create dashboards for a customer we are working with.

I have an Excel file that contains sheets whose columns and rows are identical except that each sheet is for a different year. Of course the contents are different. I want to blend the data across the years to show trends and do predictions.

Was the custom SQL option removed in Tableau 8.2 in the data connection dialog box?

From the KB article dated June 19, 2014:

Step 1

Open a new workbook, click Connect to Data > Microsoft Excel, and then find and select your Excel workbook.

Step 2

In the Excel Workbook Connection dialog box, select Custom SQL.

Step 3

Replace the default query with a UNION ALL query similar to the one shown below, using your worksheet names.

In this example, the worksheets do not include a region field, because each sheet represents a region. So in addition to the union, you create a column for Region in the Tableau view, plugging in the worksheet name as the value.

--------------------------------

Raf

• 1. Re: create a union of two sheets in the same Excel workbook in Tableau 8.2?
          Shawn Wallwork

To quote Richard Leeke, it's "cunningly hidden". That's a typical British understatement. Here's what you're looking for:

Hidden.png

That will then get you the New Custom SQL option.

Cheers,

--Shawn

• 2. Re: create a union of two sheets in the same Excel workbook in Tableau 8.2?
            rafael diaz