6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2014 12:29 PM by Lisa Tango

Show sales for selected date range and selected date range minus 1 year

john.finn

Hi,

I have been searching all day for a solution and I have downloaded some samples but I cannot solve my issue. I am fairly new to Tableau so apologies if I have missed something obvious...

I want to automatically display sales (or QTY sold) for the user selected date range minus 1 year. So if use selects a date range 01/01/2013 to 31/01/2013 (01/31/2013 US format) then I want a second column to automatically display sales value for 01/01/2012 to 31/01/2012. The selected date range is dynamic and cannot be fixed and the comparison value will need to change as the user changes the selected date range.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Show sales for selected date range and selected date range minus 1 year
          Tracy Rodgers

Hi John,

You'll first need to create a date parameter (or 2 if you want a range). Then, create a calculated field similar to the following:

if [Date Field]<=DATEADD('year', -1, [date parameter])  then [Date Field] end

Then, place this on the filter shelf and select True. Right click on the parameter and select Show Parameter Control.

Hope this helps!

-Tracy

• 2. Re: Re: Show sales for selected date range and selected date range minus 1 year
            john.finn

Hi Tracy,

Thanks for your reply. I have only gotten access to the historical sales today so I am only looking at this now.

I have to admit I am utterly confused and unable to achieve what I need.

To confirm, I am trying to show sales for example department by store. The user selects a date range (e.g. 1st Nov 13 to 30th Nov 13) and the report will show sales for this date range AND also the sales for the date range minus 1 year (i.e. 1st Nov 12 to 30th Nov 12).

I have attached a spread sheet which might better show the layout I am trying to achieve.

Thanks for your assistance so far.