Information for User Group Leaders

Version 4

    The Tableau Community Forums are migrating to a new platform!


    The Community Forums were built on a software system that has reached its end of life and is no longer being supported. When our team found out that our current platform was going to sunset, we set out to find a new system that was better suited to our needs. We collected feedback and worked closely with our Forum Ambassadors to build a new, more robust community forum intentionally designed to support our vibrant community!

     

    We are incredibly excited to launch the new site and to share it with all of you!

     

    • What change is happening? How will this impact me?

    The Tableau Community Forum was built on a platform called Jive that supports external customer communities. This platform is no longer meeting out needs so the Tableau team has decided to migrate the site and all its content to a Community Platform, Salesforce Community Cloud. This is happening now and we expect the site to launch in Q2 2020 (between May - July). All users and all content will be migrated to the new community platform. Users will be able to use their same logins and all their content will still be tied to their user record.

     

    • When is the migration happening? Will it be all at once - or will it roll out over a period of time?

    The system-wide migration of all content and user profiles will occur over the course of a weekend between May and July. During this time you will continue to be allowed to log in to community.tableau.com, but the entire site will be in read-only mode. No new accounts or content will be able to be created, updated, deleted, or moved.

    We will be advertising this change on the current site, through email for all our current members, and across social media. This is a system-wide migration and there will be no opportunity to change your account back to the old site.

    We cannot share the exact launch date at this time but expect the launch to occur in Q2 2020 (between May - July).

     

    • Do I need to do anything to prepare for this change?

    If you are a group owner or group manager of a User Group all of your content and members will be migrated to the new system. The only item that cannot be migrated is your group’s profile image. If you have a profile image, we ask that you download a copy of the image as soon as possible so you have it available to upload on your new page as soon as we go live!

     

    • What will be new or what will change with the site for User Groups?

    All of your content will migrate to the new site, as well as all of your members and any documentation or resources you posted. A key item that will not migrate to the new site is your group profile. If you have uploaded an image as your group photo we ask that you download the image and save a copy that you will be able to add onto your page on the new site.

     

    • I want to know more! Will there be any pieces of training available for the new platform?

    Yes, we will share a collection of short task-based videos (all about a minute long) that will cover the basics (how to log in, how to post a question, how to answer a question .. that kind of thing). In addition to these snackable videos, the forum team will host a training webinar for User Group leaders that will be recorded and shared to help you with onboarding,

     

     

     

    More information for User Groups

     

    • How do I create a group?

    Reach out to usergroups@tableau.com to connect with a member of our community team. They will walk you through the onboarding processing and set up your user group. Only members of the Tableau team have permission to create a new group, but once yours is created it will be your responsibility to manage it and update its content.

     

    • What are the different access types of User Groups?

    Public: Anyone can join a public group. Anyone can see posts, comments, and files, and members of the group can add posts, comments, and files. You must be logged in to participate in the group.

    Private: Only logged in group members can see and add posts, comments, and files. People must ask to join or be added by the group's owner or managers. Just like public groups, you must be logged in to participate in the group.

    Unlisted: People cannot ask to join and must be invited by the group’s owner or manager. Unlisted groups offer more privacy and non-members cannot see or access unlisted groups in list views, feeds, and in search results. You must be logged in to find and participate in the group.

    • What types of User Groups does the Tableau Team support?

    Public User Groups: These are based out of cities and communities and run by customers interested in connecting with other Tableau users in the area. These are set up as public groups.

    User Groups Inside Organizations: Tableau helps set up international user groups within a company to assist learning and knowledge sharing. These are set up as private groups.

    Unlisted: People cannot ask to join and must be invited by the group’s owner or manager. Unlisted groups offer more privacy and non-members cannot see or access unlisted groups in list views, feeds, and in search results. You must be logged in to find and participate in the group.