#MadisonTUG Leadership Team Member - Spotlight Interview

Version 3

I'm all about reusing good ideas. To that end this is a reuse of the "Spotlight Interview" series that was originated by Tracy Rodgers. Those interviews were a great way to get to know people. I would like to leverage the format for the Tableau Community to get to know members of our #MadisonTUG Leadership Team. Today I'm starting with Jen Shepherd. Jen is one of the newer members of our Leadership Team and recently took on the role of Meeting Leader for our Q4 event. You can find her on Twitter @JenShepherd10 and on LinkedIn.

Jen Shepherd.JPG

Patrick: Tell us about your background and your Tableau journey.

Jen: I've been a data analyst for many years and have a doctorate in Social Psychology, but data viz is a more recent passion.  A few years ago I was an analyst and a project/team lead for a non-profit evaluation firm in Denver.  We wanted to add dashboards to our offerings, so after a review of several BI tools, I chose Tableau as one of two data viz tools for our team to use (this was around 2014, v8.2).  I received some Tableau training and did some small edits to things the team built, but mostly my role was to oversee the rest of our team, learn about and advocate for visualization best practices, and design how the dashboards should look and function without actually building them.  In my next job as a crime data analyst for the Wisconsin Dept. of Justice, I brought that data viz knowledge and interest with me and started developing worksheets and dashboards in Tableau and publishing them to Tableau Public for anyone to access, but it was a small part of my overall role.  Now in my current position - data visualization engineer at Forte - I use Desktop daily, publish regularly to Server, and have been learning more about Server's capabilities.  I mostly build dashboards related to clinical research trials for our clients (hospitals, cancer centers, academic medical centers, etc.) but ha