Skip navigation
2016

One of my end users got this interesting message when she tried to open a workbook in Desktop:

 

Zip bomb - Wikipedia

 

The directory is an internal cloud location (and may be the cause); the idea of it is that no matter where you travel inside our company world-wide, your laptop will always connect to your 'personal' cloud folder where your files are kept, secure and backed-up.  Nice in theory but terrible for speedy Tableau execution!  I have a document that instructs my users on creating a local [to their computer] library where they can put their Repository.  Tableau opens more quickly when this is done and it becomes immune to network issues/congestion where the Repository is concerned.

This was a strange occurrence on our production Server so I decided to capture the incident just-in-case.

 

5:58AM -- I logged on to our Server, 10.0.1, and went to the Project of the workbook to delete.  I clicked the ellipsis for the workbook, selected Delete..., and clicked the red Delete button.  The screen refreshed but the workbook was still present.  Odd.  So I clicked the ellipsis again, selected Delete..., and clicked the red Delete button again.  The screen refreshed, the workbook was gone, but I got the pink error message at the top of the screen.  I clicked on the Details link and got the below:

So it would seem that the workbook did get deleted the first time but somehow the screen refreshed faster than the internal db was able to process.

Just for my quick reference.

 

Data Source

Permissions